Lessons From India’s Successful Moon Landing

India has made history, but also taught us many lessons we may have forgotten…

Attila Vágó

--

Photo collage by author from own and public domain resources

My good friend Sanjay pinged me in the morning with the good news, an excerpt, and a link from the BBC stating “India’s Moon rover has taken first steps on the lunar surface a day after the country made history by becoming the first to land near the South Pole.” While I was aware of India’s attempt to land on the South Pole of the Moon, I got caught up making sense of the latest Linus Tech Tips drama. The last thing I knew for certain was that Russia’s similar attempt ended in a crash just days before, which meant that my friend from the land of amazing spices and one of the most impressive railways had an extra chance to celebrate in a few days. And celebrate he did. India’s attempt to land on the South Pole of the Moon was successful.

Perhaps the news caught me at a moment of introspection, as right after reading up on all the latest news on this monumental success, I quickly started seeing more than just a space exploration success. This is clearly huge for Indian science, but it is a memorable accomplishment for all mankind. I just wrote recently about 25 great facts about the world today, and it feels like this can absolutely be added to that list. India joined the elite club of just four countries: the USA…

--

--

Attila Vágó

Staff software engineer, tech writer, author and opinionated human. LEGO and Apple fan. Accessibility advocate. Life enthusiast. Living in Dublin, Ireland. ☘️